Jordan Lake State Park (Part 1:New Hope Overlook)

Few weeks ago, I spend the whole day at Jordan Lake State Park.  I planned to be at the park all day so I packed a lunch, snacks, and water. I put everything in my rucksack. My rucksack is very important to me because it was given to me when I was in the army. I am used to be carried heavy rucksack due to my army experience.  Hiking with a rucksack is more of a challenge and it is great at increasing your endurance. I enjoy the workout that I get from it.  Plus because I am prepared for all day it make it is easier for me to commit to 5 plus miles trail.

I started the day by hiking on New Hope Overlook Trail Red.  The red trail is 5.4 miles and it is a moderate level. The trail is mark with Red and Blue hiker on the trees so you know which trail you are on.  The New Hope Overlook trail is a new trail put on my the state park.  When I first starting this hike, I meant to hike around the whole loop including red and blue trail.  However, the trail was confused so I end up hiked only the red trail. I will have to hike this trail more often to get used to it.

Otter NestThere are some places on the trail that look like beaver or otter homes.  I went on a Saturday so any water life was hard to spot because of all of the speed boats. However, beavers are normally active during the night-time.  Some of my researcher friends told me about how they stood on a beaver nest in the middle of a pond at night because they were survival frogs by their sounds.  The beavers were not too happy that they were standing on their house so they splash them and my friends left all wet.

green flowers

Since I started hiking in NC, I came across these beautiful flower that are mostly green with little white and orange on the tip of the flower. I am having a hard time figure out what tree the flower come from.  If anyone know, please tell me because I am curious to found out.

One thing that is great about hiking on Jordan Lake is that you can pay for car entrance  day pass at one recreation area and show that receipt to other recreation area in the park to enter. It was great for me because I was able to checkout many different trails in many different recreation area.

I will say this, I have more to write about this day.  I will write it in parts so this part 1.

Awesome Day!!!

Awesome Day!!!

 

5 comments on “Jordan Lake State Park (Part 1:New Hope Overlook)

  1. […] Jordan Lake State Park (Part 1:New Hope Overlook) (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Jordan Lake State Park (Part 1:New Hope Overlook) (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Your Hub is really valuable to the internet community

  4. […] Jordan Lake State Park (Part 1:New Hope Overlook) (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Amanda Peel says:

    Ho un amico che è un’autorità in materia e quando ho fatto il tuo post era molto interessato.

Leave a Reply

