Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park

Pea Creek Trail

Today, I enjoy a wonderful hike on Pea Creek and Dunnagan Trail at Eno River State Park.The photo on the left is Pea Creek Trail during the later morning. As a kid, I would play in the woods behind my relation house and make a club house made of vines and other material.  The trail remember me of that like I was on an adventure living off of the land.

I love the sound of water flowing.  It is peaceful and comfortable.  The water flow around the rocks and logs, there is no going through. The noise of everyday life can sometime feel overbearing that is why I like to hike.  I looked for a place on the trail where I don’t hear cars or people.  I walked until I hear nothing but birds and water flowing. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against people.  There are some morning where I want to clear my mind.

This morning I saw several six-lined racerunner (Cnemidophorus sexlineatus) and American Toad.  The racerunner had a spider in it mouth. When I first starting walking on these trails, I would jump every now or than because it sound like someone would run up from behind me.  However, it was the racerunner dashed from their sun spot. A couple of time, they ran in between my feet. They are very fast (18 mph). The toads are not as fast as the racerunner but as soon as I figure that was the racerunner, then I was able to spot the toad.

American Toad

Six-liner racerunner

Sometime, when I am hiking I stop to read a book or write in my journal   A friend of mine give me a book to read so I stopped half way through my hike to read of the book. So far it is a good book that talks about how we ignore our heart’s wants. It was a hard topic for me because I am having a hard time understand what I want.  I know that I enjoy hiking and I love science. I know right now my job does not match up with what I  want to do.  All I can do is applied for jobs that does match up with what I want.

Hopefully, one day I will be able to enjoy a career in natural resource or similarly field. Until than I will keep hiking and work my day job.

6 comments on “Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park

  1. […] Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Pea Creek & Dunnagan Trail Eno River State Park (ncoutdooradventuresmia.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

